Economic zones

The Canton of Basel-Stadt strives to make economic zones and areas available according to demand and with the requested quality. Attractive real estate offers shall encourage new company establishments and business expansions.

Economic zones

The Cantonal Government of the Canton of Basel-Stadt is committed to ensuring that Basel continues to develop as an attractive and successful economic location. For this, the availability of suitable economic zones is an essential factor. Attractive real estate offers shall encourage new company establishments and business expansions.

To achieve this objective, the Economic Development Unit implements various measures each year and offers specific products and services:

  • The economic zones report (in German only) reflects the current market situation regarding the economic areas in the Canton of Basel-Stadt and summarizes the progress made within the current development plans. It is drawn up every year by the Office of Economy and Labour for the attention of the Cantonal Government.
  • The economic zones portfolio (in German only) offers an overview of available and future opportunities for expanding and newly settling companies.
  • For the purpose of networking and establishing new contacts, we regularly organise events; furthermore, we are in ongoing exchange with local companies, project developers, investors, and real estate owners.

up

Economic zones report

The Economic Development Unit annually summarises most important indicators and developments on Basel’s economic zones market. The report focuses on the development of vacancies in commercial real estate according to type of use and availability rate, which compares the available office space with the total supply.

View enlarged image
Vacancy development of economic zones in Basel-Stadt in square metres (Statistical Office)

Considering the vacancy development according to the figures provided by the Statistical Office of the Canton of Basel-Stadt, the vacancy rate of economic zones has been relatively stable over the past five years and thus remains at an overall low level. It was not until the end of 2019 and the first few months of 2020 that there were signs of an increase in availability in Basel-Stadt, particularly in terms of office space.

View enlarged image
Availability rates for office space in European cities 2019 (JLL Office Market Switzerland 2020)

A comparison between the availability rate for office space in Basel and that of other European cities shows that the local market in this sector continues to be characterized by a relatively scarce supply and a high demand. Most of the examined economic centres had availability rates beyond 5% in 2019, a circumstance that enables a good selection of location options from the demand perspective. The comparison shows that only locations experiencing an economic boom like Munich and Amsterdam, which are generally known for their tense real estate markets, present vacancy rates that are as low as in Basel.

Do you have any questions regarding the current situation on the market in the economic zones of the Canton of Basel-Stadt? Please contact our person responsible for economic zones.

up

Economic zones portfolio Basel-Stadt

Are you looking for an area to expand your company? Would you like to develop attractive commercial real estate for the increasing market demand? Or are you interested in investing in commercial real estate? The economic zones portfolio provides an overview of available and future zones with potential for commercial use in Canton Basel-Stadt.

View enlarged image
Overview of the economic areas under development in the Canton of Basel-Stadt

Due to the high attractiveness of Basel as a business location and the correspondingly high demand for attractive economic zones, the development of new areas as well as of areas in conversion in the Canton of Basel-Stadt represents a top priority.

The interactive economic zones portfolio of the Canton of Basel-Stadt (in German only) offers you a modular and up-to-date overview of the economic zones in the canton available in the future. Consult the site plan and the descriptions of each area to find out whether a particular location is of interest to you as a company or as a real estate investor.

If you have any questions about the portfolio or individual locations, do not hesitate to contact our person responsible for the economic zones.

up

The Economic Development Unit as a facilitator in the real estate field

A dynamic and efficient business real estate market is characterized by a quick adaptation of real estate offers to the constantly changing requirements of companies. The Economic Development Unit regards itself as a facilitator between companies, the real estate industry and public administration, in order to provide all participants with the best possible decision-making basis.

To this end, we organize yearly events to give existing and potential stakeholders insight into developments and investment opportunities in Basel and to promote mutual exchange.

Are you planning an expansion of your company or are you searching for profitable investment opportunities in commercial real estate? In this case, we look forward to showing you the possibilities in the Canton of Basel-Stadt.

up

Wirtschaftsflächen

Der Kanton Basel-Stadt ist bestrebt, dass Flächen in einem der Nachfrage entsprechendem Mass und in der gewünschten Qualität zur Verfügung stehen. Ansiedlungen, Gründungen und Expansionen von Unternehmen sollen durch ein attraktives Immobilienangebot gefördert werden.

Wirtschaftsflächen

Der Regierungsrat des Kantons Basel-Stadt engagiert sich dafür, dass sich Basel weiterhin als attraktiver und erfolgreicher Wirtschaftsstandort entwickelt. Dazu gehört die Verfügbarkeit von geeigneten Wirtschaftsflächen als ein wesentlicher Standortfaktor. Ansiedlungen, Gründungen und Expansionen von Unternehmen sollen durch ein passendes Immobilienangebot gefördert werden.

Die Standortförderung setzt zum Erreichen dieses Ziels jährlich verschiedene Massnahmen um und bietet spezifische Produkte und Dienstleistungen an:

  • Der Wirtschaftsflächenbericht gibt die aktuelle Marktsituation für Wirtschaftsflächen in Basel-Stadt wieder und fasst die Fortschritte bei den laufenden Entwicklungsplanungen zusammen. Er wird jährlich vom Amt für Wirtschaft und Arbeit zuhanden des Regierungsrates erstellt.
  • Das Wirtschaftsflächenportfolio bietet eine Übersicht verfügbarer und zukünftiger Potenziale für expandierende und neu ansiedelnde Unternehmen.
  • Zur Vermittlung und Vernetzung organisieren wir regelmässig Veranstaltungen und sind im Austausch mit lokalen Unternehmen, Projektentwicklern, Investoren und Grundeigentümern.

nach oben

Wirtschaftsflächenbericht

Die Standortförderung fasst jährlich die wichtigsten Indikatoren und Entwicklungen auf dem Wirtschaftsflächenmarkt Basel zusammen. Im Fokus des Berichts stehen die Entwicklungen des Leerstandes von Geschäftsimmobilien nach Nutzungsart sowie jene der Angebotsquote, welche die verfügbaren Büroflächen ins Verhältnis zum gesamten Angebot stellt.

Bild vergrössert anzeigen
Leerstandentwicklung von Wirtschaftsflächen in Basel-Stadt in Quadratmeter (Statistisches Amt)

Betrachtet man die Leerstandentwicklung gemäss den Zahlen des statistischen Amts Basel-Stadt, verhält sich der Leerstand an Wirtschaftsflächen in den letzten fünf Jahren relativ stabil und verbleibt somit auf einem insgesamt tiefen Niveau. Erst Ende 2019 und in den ersten Monaten des Jahres 2020 deutete sich eine Angebotsausweitung in Basel-Stadt an, insbesondere bei den Büroflächen.

Bild vergrössert anzeigen
Angebotsquoten für Büroflächen in Europäischen Städten 2019 (JLL Büromarkt Schweiz 2020)

Vergleicht man die Angebotsquote für Büroflächen von Basel mit jenen anderer europäischer Städte, zeigt sich, dass der hiesige Markt für Büroflächen weiterhin einem relativ knappen Angebot und einer grossen Nachfrage geprägt ist. Die meisten der untersuchten Wirtschaftszentren hatten 2019 Angebotsquoten von über 5%, was aus der Nachfrageperspektive eine gute Auswahl an Standortoptionen ermöglicht. In diesem Vergleich weisen lediglich wirtschaftliche Boom-Standorte wie München und Amsterdam, welche allgemein für ihre angespannten Immobilienmärkte bekannt sind, ähnlich tiefe Leerstandwerte wie Basel aus.

Haben Sie Fragen zur aktuellen Lage auf dem Wirtschaftsflächenmarkt im Kanton Basel-Stadt? Kontaktieren Sie unseren Verantwortlichen Wirtschaftsflächen.

nach oben

Wirtschaftsflächenportfolio – Kanton Basel-Stadt

Sind Sie auf der Suche nach einer Expansionsfläche für Ihr Unternehmen? Möchten Sie attraktive Geschäftsimmobilien für die steigende Marktnachfrage entwickeln? Oder sind Sie interessiert in Geschäftsimmobilien zu investieren? Das Wirtschaftsflächenportfolio gibt einen Überblick der verfügbaren und zukünftigen Potenzialflächen für wirtschaftliche Nutzungen im Kanton Basel-Stadt.

Bild vergrössert anzeigen
Übersicht Wirtschaftsflächen in Entwicklung im Kanton Basel-Stadt

Aufgrund der hohen Standortattraktivität von Basel und der entsprechend hohen Nachfrage nach attraktiven Wirtschaftsflächen kommt der Entwicklung neuer Flächenangebote und der in Transformation befindlichen Areale im Kanton Basel-Stadt eine hohe Wichtigkeit zu.

Das interaktive Wirtschaftsflächenportfolio des Kantons Basel-Stadt bietet Ihnen eine modular aufgebaute und laufend aktualisierte Übersicht der zukünftig verfügbaren Wirtschaftsflächen im Kanton. Entnehmen Sie dem Lageplan und den einzelnen Flächenbeschreibungen, ob ein bestimmtes Areal für Sie als Unternehmen oder Immobilieninvestor von Interesse ist.

Bei Fragen zum Portfolio oder einzelnen Arealen, zögern Sie nicht, unseren Verantwortlichen Wirtschaftsflächen zu kontaktieren.

nach oben

Die Standortförderung als Vermittlerin im Immobilienbereich

Ein dynamisch und gut funktionierender Geschäftsimmobilienmarkt zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass sich die Immobilienangebote schnell den sich ständig verändernden Bedürfnisse der Unternehmen anpassen. Die Standortförderung versteht sich als Vermittlerin zwischen den Unternehmen, der Immobilienbranche und der Verwaltung, um allen Beteiligten möglichst gute Grundlagen für ihre Entscheidungen zu liefern.

Dazu organisieren wir jährlich Veranstaltungen um bestehenden und potenziellen Akteuren einen Einblick in die Entwicklungen und Investitionsmöglichkeiten am Standort Basel zu bieten und den gegenseitigen Austausch zu fördern.

Planen Sie eine Expansion Ihres Unternehmens oder suchen Sie eine rentable Investitionsmöglichkeit in Geschäftsimmobilien? Dann freuen wir uns, Ihnen die Möglichkeiten im Kanton Basel-Stadt aufzuzeigen.

nach oben