Cantonal economic strategy

Are you interested in the economic strategy of the Canton of Basel-Stadt? Every four years, in the economic report, the Cantonal Government describes its strategies, concepts and measures in the field of economics.

Joint economic report by the Canton of Basel-Stadt and Baselland

A joint economic report of the cantons of Basel-Stadt, Basel-Landschaft and Jura has been published for the first time in 2020. Two independent studies analyse the recent development and economic performance of the Basel-Jura economic region as well as its strengths and weaknesses. Based on this information, future opportunities and challenges for the Basel-Jura region have been drawn up. The focus of the 2020 joint economic report is on taking stock and reviewing the past. An additional report by the Office of Economy and Labour addresses the uncertain economic situation due to the COVID-19 pandemic in the first half of 2020 and offers an initial assessment of the consequences for Basel-Stadt as a business location.

In 2016, the cantons of Basel-Stadt and Basel-Landschaft submitted a joint economic report for the period 2016–2019. The 2016-2019 economic report provides, on the one hand, an independent analysis of the two cantons’ economic performance based on selected indicators and forecasts. On the other, supra-cantonal but also selected cantonal goals, measures, services and instruments of the two Economic Development Units of Basel-Landschaft and Basel-Stadt are presented.

 

Economic report BS/BL/JU 2020 (in German only)

Link to the indicator set of the statistical offices' report (in German only)

Economic report BS/BL 2016-2019 (in German only) (not accessible to everybody)
 

Basel-Stadt as business location in times of the COVID-19 pandemic

In addition to the economic report, the Office of Economy and Labour AWA published an additional report in June 2020. It addresses the uncertain economic situation in the first half of 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic and provides an initial appraisal of the consequences for Basel-Stadt as a business location. This report was updated in January 2021, with additional elements being added. The report re-examines the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic for the economy as a whole, for the individual sectors, and for the labour market in the Canton of Basel-Stadt. In addition, an excursus compares the current situation with two previous global economic crises - the financial crisis of 2008/2009 and the oil crisis as of 1973.

 

Basel-Stadt as a business location in times of the COVID-19 pandemic, updated January 2021 (in German only)

Basel-Stadt as a business location in times of the COVID-19 pandemic, June 2020 (in German only)

up

Stratégie économique cantonale

Vous intéressez-vous à la stratégie économique du Canton de Bâle-Ville ? Tous les quatre ans, le Conseil d’État décrit ses stratégies, concepts et mesures du domaine économique dans le rapport économique.

Rapport économique conjoints des cantons de Bâle-Ville, Bâle-Campagne et du Jura 2020

Pour la première fois en 2020, les cantons de Bâle-Ville, Bâle-Campagne et du Jura publient un rapport conjoint sur la situation économique. Deux études indépendantes analysent l’évolution passée et la performance économique de la région Bâle-Jura ainsi que ses points forts et faibles. Sur la base de ces données, les opportunités et les défis à venir pour la région Bâle-Jura ont pu être identifiés. Le rapport économique 2020 conjoint se focalise sur un état des lieux et une rétrospective. Un rapport supplémentaire de l’Office de l’économie et du travail thématise la situation économique incertaine dominante au cours du premier semestre 2020 en raison de la pandémie COVID-19 et présente une première classification des conséquences sur la place économique de Bâle-Ville.

En 2016, les cantons Bâle-Ville et Bâle-Campagne ont présenté conjointement un rapport économique pour 2016-2019. Le rapport économique 2016-2019 offre d'une part une analyse indépendante de la performance économique des cantons de Bâle-Ville et Bâle-Campagne, sur la base d’indicateurs et de pronostics sélectionnés. D'autre part, les objectifs, mesures, services et outils supra-cantonaux et en partie cantonaux des deux Promotions économiques de Bâle-Campagne et de Bâle Ville sont présentés.

 

Rapport économique BS/BL/JU 2020 (PDF, 3.8 MB)

Lien vers la série d'indicateurs du rapport des offices statistiques (uniquement en allemand)

Rapport économique BS/BL 2016-2019 (uniquement en allemand) (PDF, Non accessible à tous)
 

Place économique de Bâle-Ville durant la pandémie de COVID-19

Outre le rapport économique, un rapport supplémentaire de l'Office de l’économie et du travail AWA a été publié en juin 2020. Il thématise la situation économique incertaine du premier semestre 2020, due à la pandémie de COVID-19 et présente une première classification de l’impact sur la place économique de Bâle-Ville. Ce rapport a été mis à jour en janvier 2021 et il a été complété par des éléments supplémentaires. Le rapport réexamine l’impact de la pandémie de COVID-19 sur l'économie globale, les divers secteurs et le marché de l’emploi dans le Canton de Bâle-Ville. En outre, la situation actuelle est mise en parallèle avec deux crises économiques mondiales - la crise financière de 2008/2009 et la crise du prix du pétrole à partir de 1973.

 

Place économique de Bâle-Ville durant le COVID-19, mis à jour janvier 2021 (uniquement en allemand)

Place économique de Bâle-Ville durant le COVID-19, juin 2020 (uniquement en allemand)

Vers le haut