Labour market

Employment, unemployment and shortage of skilled workers. Here you can find the most important figures and charts for Basel-Stadt's labour market.

Employment and unemployment

  2011 2016 2019 2020 2021
Employed
persons
(in thousand)

183.2

190.3

192.5

 

188.8

-

Unemployment rate 3.7 % 3.9 % 3.0 % 3.9 % 3.9 %
Cross-border
commuters
(in thousand)
31.7 35.7 34.4 34.6 34.6
Cross-border
commuters ratio DE
46.5 % 48.5 % 47.6 % 46.9 % 46.6 %
Cross-border
commuters ratio FR
53.2 % 50.7 % 51.3 % 51.9 % 52.1 %

Source: Federal Statistical Office (FSO) - STATENT / State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) - unemployment statistics

Sectoral structure : Employed persons

View enlarged image

The following analysis shows figures and graphs on sectoral and industry-specific employment trends in the canton of Basel-Stadt from 1970 and 1998 respectively:

nach oben

Skilled labour shortage

Skilled labour shortages Basel 2022
View enlarged image

The basic tendency of a relatively high demand for skilled workers in healthcare and the so-called MINT sector (mathematics, information technology, natural sciences and technology) has been an issue on the labour market for several years. According to the job statistics (JOBSTAT) of the Federal Statistical Office (FSO), the number of vacancies in north-western Switzerland increased significantly at the beginning of 2022. JOBSTAT also indicates that recruitment difficulties regarding university graduates, as well as individuals with vocational and higher vocational training have become more acute in numerous areas in 2022.

A further perspective on the subject is provided by a skilled labour shortage index compiled by the Office for Economiy and Labour in Zurich. This index compares indicators of labour demand and supply for different professional sectors and thus offers an approach for quantifying the relative need for skilled labour. Specifically, the indicator consists of the following four sub-indicators: "ratio of vacancies to job seekers", "duration of an employment advertisement", "duration of the job search", and "qualification requirements". The graphic above shows the ten professions with the strongest and weakest characteristics of this indicator in the Basel region. The index indicates a relative need for labour, particularly for skilled workers in technical, intellectual and scientific occupations. In comparison, in the area of unskilled labour, the shortage seems to be less pronounced.

In order to get a better impression of the scale of the professional groups affected, it is helpful to consider the volume of the different professional groups in the context of the indicator.

Against this background, the graphic below compares the values of the skilled labour shortage indicator with the respective employment share of an occupational field, as expressed in the size of the respective bubbles. While general office workers and salespersons account for the largest employment share, these two groups show a moderately negative index value. In the groups of skilled trades, agricultural occupations, technical professions, and intellectual and scientific jobs, a general trend towards positive index values can be observed. The latter two groups in particular are also characterized by individual professions with a comparatively high degree of employment. Notably doctors, qualified healthcare professionals, and material and engineering specialists stand out due to the above-average value on the skilled labour shortage indicator as well as in terms of the employment share.

View enlarged image

Additional note: The Basel region includes the cantons of Basel-Stadt, Basel-Landschaft, and Solothurn. Occupations are defined on the basis of the Swiss Standard Classification of Occupations CH-ISCO-19, and are considered at the level of the occupational subgroups (CH-ISCO-19 3-digit code, referred to here as "occupations": "Main occupational groups" are in turn recorded at the level of the CH-ISCO-19 1-digit code). The job titles are abbreviations. Due to the form of the presentation and better readability, the female job titles have not been named in the graphics. Gender neutral and male titles are used throughout. The female form is included explicitly.

nach oben

Marché du travail

Emploi, chômage et pénurie de main-d'oeuvre qualifiée. Vous trouverez ici les chiffres clés et les graphiques les plus importants sur le marché du travail de Bâle-Ville.

Emploi et chômage

  2011 2016 2019 2020

2021

Emplois
(en milliers)
183.2 190.3 192.5 188.8 -
Taux de chômage 3.7 % 3.9 % 3.0 % 3.9 % 3.9 %
Frontaliers
(en milliers)
31.7 35.7 34.4 34.6 34.6
Frontaliers part DE 46.5 % 48.5 % 47.6 % 46.9 % 46.6 %
Frontaliers part FR 53.2 % 50.7 % 51.3 % 51.9 % 52.1 %

Source: Office fédéral de la statistique (OFS) - STATENT / Secrétariat d'Etat à l'économie (SECO) - Statistiques sur le chômage

Structure par secteur: Emplois

Afficher l'image agrandie

L'analyse suivante présente des chiffres et des graphiques sur l'évolution de l'emploi par secteur et par branche dans le canton de Bâle-Ville, respectivement à partir de 1970 et 1998 :

Vers le haut

La pénurie de main-d'oeuvre qualifiée

Afficher l'image agrandie

La tendance générale selon laquelle il existe une demande relativement élevée pour les professionnels de la santé et des secteurs dits MINT (mathématiques, informatique, sciences naturelles et technique) est un thème récurrent sur le marché du travail depuis plusieurs années. D’après la statistique de l'emploi (STATEM) de l'Office fédéral de la statistique (OFS), le nombre de postes vacants dans le nord-ouest de la Suisse a considérablement augmenté début 2022. Par ailleurs, la STATEM indique que les difficultés de recrutement de diplômés des hautes écoles, ainsi que de personnes ayant suivi une formation professionnelle initiale ou supérieure, se sont accentuées en 2022 dans de nombreux secteurs.

Un indice de pénurie de personnel qualifié, établi par l'Office de l'économie et du travail de Zurich, présente un autre point de vue sur cette thématique. L'indice de pénurie de personnel qualifié compare les indicateurs de la demande et de l'offre de personnel qualifié pour différentes professions et offre ainsi une approche permettant de quantifier les besoins relatifs en personnel qualifié. Concrètement, l'indicateur se compose des quatre sous-indicateurs suivants : « Rapport entre les postes vacants et les demandeurs d'emploi », « Durée de l'offre d'emploi », « Durée de la recherche d'emploi » et « Qualifications requises ». Le graphique ci-dessus présente les dix professions avec les caractéristiques les plus fortes et les plus faibles de cet indicateur dans la région de Bâle. L'indice indique un besoin relatif de personnel qualifié, notamment pour les professionnels des domaines techniques, intellectuels et scientifiques. Dans le secteur des travailleurs auxiliaires, la pénurie de personnel qualifié semble comparativement moins importante.

Pour avoir une meilleure idée de l'ordre de grandeur des groupes professionnels concernés, il est utile de prendre en compte le volume des différents groupes professionnels dans le contexte de l'indicateur.

Dans ce contexte, le graphique ci-dessous compare les valeurs de l'indicateur de pénurie de personnel qualifié avec la part d'emploi correspondante d'une profession, exprimée par la taille des bulles. Tandis que le personnel de bureau général ainsi que le personnel de vente représentent la plus grande part de l'emploi, ces deux groupes montrent un indice modérément négatif. En revanche, dans les catégories des professions artisanales, agricoles, techniques ainsi que des professions intellectuelles et scientifiques, on observe une tendance générale à des indices positifs. Notamment les deux dernières catégories se caractérisent également par des professions individuelles avec un volume d’emploi relativement élevé. En particulier, les médecins, les professionnels des soins ainsi que les professionnels des matériaux et de l'ingénierie se distinguent non seulement par la valeur supérieure à la moyenne de l'indicateur de pénurie de professionnels qualifiés mais aussi par le taux d’emploi.

Afficher l'image agrandie

Note supplémentaire : La région de Bâle comprend les cantons de Bâle-Ville, Bâle-Campagne et Soleure. Les professions sont définies sur la base de la nomenclature suisse des professions CH-ISCO-19 et sont considérées au niveau des sous-catégories de professions (CH-ISCO-19 à 3 chiffres, ici dénommés « professions » : les « groupes principaux de professions » sont à leur tour saisis au niveau des CH-ISCO-19 à 1 chiffre). Les désignations des professions sont des abréviations. En raison de la forme de présentation et de la meilleure lisibilité, le graphique omet la dénomination des titres professionnels féminins. Les désignations neutres et masculines sont utilisées. La forme féminine est explicitement incluse.

Vers le haut