Labour market

Employment, unemployment and shortage of skilled workers. Here you can find the most important figures and charts for Basel-Stadt's labour market.

Employment and unemployment

  2011 2016 2019 2020 2021
Employed
persons
(in thousand)

183.2

190.3

192.5

 

188.8

-

Unemployment rate 3.7 % 3.9 % 3.0 % 3.9 % 3.9 %
Cross-border
commuters
(in thousand)
31.7 35.7 34.4 34.6 34.6
Cross-border
commuters ratio DE
46.5 % 48.5 % 47.6 % 46.9 % 46.6 %
Cross-border
commuters ratio FR
53.2 % 50.7 % 51.3 % 51.9 % 52.1 %

Source: Federal Statistical Office (FSO) - STATENT / State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) - unemployment statistics

Sectoral structure : Employed persons

View enlarged image

The following analysis shows figures and graphs on sectoral and industry-specific employment trends in the canton of Basel-Stadt from 1970 and 1998 respectively:

nach oben

Skilled labour shortage

Skilled labour shortages Basel 2022
View enlarged image

The basic tendency of a relatively high demand for skilled workers in healthcare and the so-called MINT sector (mathematics, information technology, natural sciences and technology) has been an issue on the labour market for several years. According to the job statistics (JOBSTAT) of the Federal Statistical Office (FSO), the number of vacancies in north-western Switzerland increased significantly at the beginning of 2022. JOBSTAT also indicates that recruitment difficulties regarding university graduates, as well as individuals with vocational and higher vocational training have become more acute in numerous areas in 2022.

A further perspective on the subject is provided by a skilled labour shortage index compiled by the Office for Economiy and Labour in Zurich. This index compares indicators of labour demand and supply for different professional sectors and thus offers an approach for quantifying the relative need for skilled labour. Specifically, the indicator consists of the following four sub-indicators: "ratio of vacancies to job seekers", "duration of an employment advertisement", "duration of the job search", and "qualification requirements". The graphic above shows the ten professions with the strongest and weakest characteristics of this indicator in the Basel region. The index indicates a relative need for labour, particularly for skilled workers in technical, intellectual and scientific occupations. In comparison, in the area of unskilled labour, the shortage seems to be less pronounced.

In order to get a better impression of the scale of the professional groups affected, it is helpful to consider the volume of the different professional groups in the context of the indicator.

Against this background, the graphic below compares the values of the skilled labour shortage indicator with the respective employment share of an occupational field, as expressed in the size of the respective bubbles. While general office workers and salespersons account for the largest employment share, these two groups show a moderately negative index value. In the groups of skilled trades, agricultural occupations, technical professions, and intellectual and scientific jobs, a general trend towards positive index values can be observed. The latter two groups in particular are also characterized by individual professions with a comparatively high degree of employment. Notably doctors, qualified healthcare professionals, and material and engineering specialists stand out due to the above-average value on the skilled labour shortage indicator as well as in terms of the employment share.

View enlarged image

Additional note: The Basel region includes the cantons of Basel-Stadt, Basel-Landschaft, and Solothurn. Occupations are defined on the basis of the Swiss Standard Classification of Occupations CH-ISCO-19, and are considered at the level of the occupational subgroups (CH-ISCO-19 3-digit code, referred to here as "occupations": "Main occupational groups" are in turn recorded at the level of the CH-ISCO-19 1-digit code). The job titles are abbreviations. Due to the form of the presentation and better readability, the female job titles have not been named in the graphics. Gender neutral and male titles are used throughout. The female form is included explicitly.

nach oben

Arbeitsmarkt

Beschäftigung, Arbeitslosigkeit und Fachkräftemangel. Hier finden Sie die wichtigsten Kennzahlen und Grafiken zum basel-städtischen Arbeitsmarkt.

Beschäftigung und Arbeitslosigkeit

  2011 2016 2019 2020 2021
Beschäftigte
(in Tausend)
183.2 190.3 192.5 188.8 -
Arbeitslosenquote 3.7 % 3.9 % 3.0 % 3.9 % 3.9 %
Grenzgängerinnen
& Grenzgänger
(in Tausend)
31.7 35.7 34.4 34.6 34.6
Grenzgänger
Anteil DE
46.5 % 48.5 % 47.6 % 46.9 % 46.6 %
Grenzgänger
Anteil FR
53.2 % 50.7 % 51.3 % 51.9 % 52.1 %

Quelle: Bundesamt für Statistik (BFS) - STATENT / Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft (SECO) - Arbeitslosenstatistik
 

Branchenstruktur: Beschäftigte

Bild vergrössert anzeigen

Zahlen und Grafiken zur sektoralen und branchenspezifischen Beschäftigungsentwicklung im Kanton Basel-Stadt ab 1970, resp. 1998, sind in der folgenden Analyse ersichtlich:

nach oben

Fachkräftemangel

Bild vergrössert anzeigen

Die grundsätzliche Tendenz, dass für Fachkräfte aus dem Gesundheitswesen und dem sogenannten MINT-Bereich (Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaft und Technik) eine relativ hohe Nachfrage besteht, ist seit mehreren Jahren ein Thema am Arbeitsmarkt. Gemäss der Beschäftigungsstatistik (BESTA) des Bundesamts für Statistik (BFS) hat sich die Anzahl der offenen Stellen in der Nordwestschweiz Anfang 2022 deutlich erhöht. Die BESTA deuten zudem darauf hin, dass sich die Rekrutierungsschwierigkeiten für Hochschulabsolventen, sowie für Personen mit Berufslehre und höherer Berufsbildung in 2022 in zahlreichen Bereichen zugespitzt haben.

Ein weiterer Blickwinkel auf die Thematik bietet ein Fachkräftemangelindex, der vom Amt für Wirtschaft und Arbeit Zürich erstellt wird. Der Fachkräftemangelindex stellt Kennzahlen der Arbeitskräftenachfrage sowie des Arbeitskräfteangebots für verschiedene Berufe gegenüber und bietet damit einen Ansatz, um den relativen Fachkräftebedarf zu quantifizieren. Konkret setzt sich der Indikator aus den folgenden vier Teilindikatoren zusammen: „Verhältnis offene Stellen zu Stellensuchenden“, „Dauer der Stellenausschreibung“, „Dauer der Stellensuche“ sowie “Qualifikationsanforderungen“. Die obenstehende Grafik zeigt die zehn Berufe mit den jeweils stärksten und schwächsten Ausprägungen dieses Indikators in der Region Basel. Der Index deutet insbesondere für Fachkräfte aus den Bereichen der technischen sowie intellektuellen und wissenschaftlichen Berufen auf einen relativen Arbeitskräftebedarf hin. Im Bereich der Hilfsarbeitskräfte scheint ein Fachkräftemangel vergleichsweise weniger stark ausgeprägt zu sein.

Um einen besseren Eindruck über die Grössenordnung der betroffenen Berufsgruppen zu erhalten, ist es hilfreich, das Volumen der unterschiedlichen Berufsgruppen im Kontext des Indikators zu berücksichtigen.

Vor diesem Hintergrund stellt die untenstehende Grafik die Werte des Fachkräftemangelindikators dem jeweiligen Beschäftigungsanteil eines Berufes gegenüber, der in der Grösse der Blasen zum Ausdruck gebracht wird. Während allgemeine Bürokräfte und Verkaufskräfte den grössten Beschäftigungsanteilen ausmachen, weisen diese beiden Gruppen einen moderat negativen Indexwert aus. In den Gruppen der Handwerksberufe, der landwirtschaftlichen Berufe, der technischen Berufe als auch der intellektuellen und wissenschaftlichen Berufe ist wiederum eine generelle Tendenz zu positiven Indexwerten zu beobachten. Gerade die beiden letztgenannten Gruppen zeichnen sich auch durch einzelne Berufe mit einem vergleichsweise hohen Beschäftigungsvolumen aus. Insbesondere Ärzte, Pflegefachkräfte sowie Material- und ingenieurtechnische Fachkräfte stechen durch den sowohl überdurchschnittlichen Wert des Fachkräftemangelindikators als auch des Beschäftigungsanteils hervor.

Ergänzender Hinweis: Zur Region Basel zählen die Kantone Basel-Stadt, Basel-Landschaft und Solothurn. Berufe sind auf Basis der Schweizer Berufsnomenklatur CH-ISCO-19 definiert und werden auf Ebene der Berufsuntergruppen betrachtet (CH-ISCO-19 3-Steller, hier als „Berufe“ bezeichnet: „Berufshauptgruppen“ sind wiederum auf Ebene der CH-ISCO-19 1-Steller erfasst). Die Berufsbezeichnungen sind Abkürzungen. Aufgrund der Darstellungsform und der besseren Lesbarkeit wurde in den Grafiken auf die Nennung der weiblichen Berufsbezeichnungen verzichtet. Verwendet werden geschlechtsneutrale und männliche Bezeichnungen. Die weibliche Form ist explizit mit eingeschlossen.