Location factors

How competitive is Basel-Stadt and how does the canton perform with regard to location attractiveness? A look at selected location factors delivers the answers.

The competitiveness and attractiveness of Basel-Stadt as a business location is demonstrated on the basis of selected location factors. The location factors shape the location quality and contribute significantly to the future growth of the canton.

View enlarged image
Explanation: The median canton is standardised to 100. The most recent year available (2017 to 2019) was used respectively. If the value of the Canton of Basel-Stadt is above the median canton, the canton has a location advantage.

Basel-Stadt is characterised in particular by the following success factors:

  • High level of innovation: above-average number of patents per capita, excellent educational institutions, high availability of highly qualified individuals and, correspondingly, high human capital
  • Above-average accessibility: optimal accessibility by train, car or plane from Europe and other regions in Switzerland

The BAK Taxation Index (EATR, i.e. effective average tax rate) was included to compare the taxation of companies and highly qualified individuals. The tax reform in the Canton of Basel-Stadt significantly reduced the costs for many companies.  When it comes to corporate taxation, Basel-Stadt now scores slightly above average in an all-Swiss comparison. Compared to the Swiss average, the taxation of the highly qualified is less attractive.

up

Economic potential

BAK Economics indicators show an above-average economic potential for the canton. In addition, Basel-Stadt is particularly attractive for companies as well as for highly qualified employees. Finally, the canton is also characterised by a high level of competitiveness.

View enlarged image
Explanation: BAK Economics Index of economic potential comprises 26 indicators, which are divided into three categories: “Performance”, “Attractiveness” and “Competitiveness”. The “BAK Economics Performance Index” reflects economic success based on recent economic developments. The “BAK Economics Attractiveness Index” can be used to assess how attractive the region is for corporations and highly qualified employees. The third category, the “BAK Economics Competitiveness Index”, takes into account competitiveness and economic forecasts.

    

up

Standortfaktoren

Wie wettbewerbsfähig ist Basel-Stadt und wie schneidet der Kanton hinsichtlich der Standortattraktivität ab? Ein Blick auf ausgewählte Standortfaktoren liefert Antworten.

Anhand ausgewählter Standortfaktoren werden die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und die Standortattraktivität von Basel-Stadt dargestellt. Die Standortfaktoren prägen die Standortqualität und tragen massgeblich zum künftigen Wachstum des Kantons bei.

Bild vergrössert anzeigen
Erläuterung: Der Mediankanton ist auf 100 normiert. Verwendet wurde jeweils das aktuellste verfügbare Jahr (2015 bis 2019). Liegt der Wert des Kantons Basel-Stadt über dem Mediankanton, hat der Kanton einen Standortvorteil.

Basel-Stadt zeichnet sich besonders durch folgende Erfolgsfaktoren aus:

  • Hohe Innovationskraft: Überdurchschnittlich hohe Anzahl an Patenten pro Kopf, hervorragende Bildungseinrichtungen, hohe Verfügbarkeit von hochqualifizierten Arbeitskräften, entsprechend hohes Humankapital
  • Überdurchschnittliche Erreichbarkeit: Optimale Erreichbarkeit per Bahn, Auto oder Flugzeug aus Europa sowie aus anderen Regionen der Schweiz

Um die Besteuerung von Unternehmen und Hochqualifizieren zu vergleichen, wurde der BAK Taxation Index miteinbezogen (EATR-Steuerbelastung (d.h. effektive durchschnittliche Steuerbelastung) für Unternehmen bzw. für Hochqualifizierte). Die Steuerreform im Kanton Basel-Stadt hat  die Kosten für viele Unternehmen deutlich gesenkt.  Bei der Unternehmensbesteuerung schneidet Basel-Stadt im schweizerischen Vergleich nun überdurchschnittlich ab.  Bei der Besteuerung von Hochqualifizierten bewegt sich der Kanton im Mittelfeld.

nach oben

Patentanmeldungen

Bild vergrössert anzeigen
Indikatoren von BAK Economics weisen ein überdurchschnittliches wirtschaftliches Potential des Kantons aus. Daneben gilt Basel-Stadt als besonders attraktiv sowohl für Unternehmen als auch für hochqualifizierte Arbeitnehmende. Schliesslich zeichnet sich der Kanton auch durch eine hohe Wettbewerbsfähigkeit aus.

    

nach oben

BAK Potential

Bild vergrössert anzeigen
Erläuterung: BAK Index des wirtschaftlichen Potentials umfasst 26 Indikatoren, welche drei Dimensionen "Performance", "Attraktivität" und "Wettbewerbsfähigkeit" zugeteilt sind. Den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg anhand der jüngeren wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung wird vom „BAK Performance Index“ reflektiert. Anhand des „BAK Attraktivitätsindex“ kann eingeschätzt werden, wie attraktiv die Region für Unternehmen und hochqualifizierte Arbeitnehmende ist. Die dritte Dimension „BAK Index der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit“ berücksichtigt die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Prognosen für die Wirtschaft.

     

nach oben