COVID-19

Basel-Stadt as a business location in times of the COVID-19 pandemic

Basel-Stadt as a business location in times of the COVID-19 pandemic (in German only)

Economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic for Basel-Stadt

For an initial assessment of the economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic in the Canton of Basel-Stadt, the AWA has compiled the report "Business Location Basel-Stadt during the COVID-19 Pandemic".

Several indicators suggest that the positive economic development of recent years has come to a sudden slowdown. Accordingly, economic analysis institute BAK Economics is projecting a 2.0% contraction for the region’s real GDP (compared with -5.8% for all of Switzerland) in its most recent economic forecast from July. Given that the pandemic’s further course is largely unknown, it should be noted that the projections are subject to significant uncertainty. As has been the case during past periods of crisis, the Life Sciences and their relatively large share of value added in the Canton of Basel-Stadt should have a stabilising effect.

The clearest signs of the slump emanate from the tourism sector of Basel-Stadt. From March to July 2020 the region registered approx. 77% fewer overnight visits compared to the same period a year ago. For the months ahead, only a slow recovery can be anticipated, despite re-opening measures being implemented. Interpersonal services and services with physical contact (e.g. physiotherapists, dentists) and other predominantly personal services (such as hair stylists, beauticians) along with the cultural, events and sports sectors, also are and will be struggling due to serious, in some cases severe revenue losses.

The labour market was impacted early on in the crisis. By the end of July,  94’150 employees from companies headquartered in Basel-Stadt had filed advance applications for short-time labour reimbursement, the unemployment rate of the Canton rose from 3.2% in February to 4.1% by  July. At the same time, the number of job vacancies reported to the regional employment centres of the Canton (RAV) has strongly declined from March to May. From June onwards, the number of job vacancies recovered and reached 1’600 by the end of July.

View enlarged image
Monthly development of job vacancies and unemployment rate in the Canton of Basel-Stadt
Last data point: July 2020

The speed of an eventual economic recovery is contingent on many factors and therefore cannot yet be adequately predicted. The swift implementation of aid and relief measures by the Canton and the Federal Government, however, should further accelerate a recovery. In addition, Basel-Stadt remains an attractive business location with a variety of economic location advantages and a business infrastructure able to buffer the worst impacts in times of crisis.

up

COVID-19 and regional economy: rocky road out of the crisis

The Arbeitgeberverband Basel (Employers Association Basel), the Gewerbeverband Basel-Stadt (Trade Association Basel-Stadt), the Handelskammer beider Basel (Chamber of Commerce and Industry of both Basel), the Economic Development of Basel-Stadt at AWA and the Economic Development of Basel-Landschaft carried out a joint survey regarding the handling of the lockdown among companies in the economic region of  Basel.
635 decision-makers across all business sectors and company sizes took part in the survey. The current atmosphere based on the feedback received shows that the impact of the coronavirus on the economy is immense.

 

Media release on the survey (in German only)
Mood barometer Special summer 2020, management summary (in German only)
Mood barometer Special summer 2020, short version (in German only)
Mood barometer Special summer 2020, full version (in German only)

up

Covid-19


Wirtschaftsstandort Basel-Stadt während der Covid-19-Pandemie

Wirtschaftliche Folgen der Covid-19-Pandemie für Basel-Stadt

Eine erste Einordung der wirtschaftlichen Folgen der Covid-19-Pandemie für Basel-Stadt finden Sie im Bericht „Wirtschaftsstandort Basel-Stadt zu Zeiten der Covid-19-Pandemie“.

Verschiedene Indikatoren zeigen, dass die positive Wirtschaftsentwicklung der vergangenen Jahre auch in Basel-Stadt unvermittelt abgebremst wurde. So geht BAK Economics in der jüngsten Konjunkturprognose vom Juli davon aus, dass das reale BIP im Jahr 2020 um rund 2.0% schrumpfen wird (Schweiz: -5.8%). Dabei ist zu berücksichtigen, dass eine Prognose aufgrund der unbekannten weiteren Entwicklung der Pandemie mit erheblichen Unsicherheiten behaftet ist. Stabilisierend wirken – wie auch schon in vergangenen Krisen – die Life Sciences und ihr relativ hoher Anteil an der baselstädtischen Wertschöpfung.

Besonders deutlich zeigt sich der Einbruch hingegen im baselstädtischen Tourismus. Von März bis Juli 2020 wurden im Vergleich zum entsprechenden Vorjahreszeitraum rund 77% weniger Logiernächte registriert und auch in den kommenden Monaten ist trotz Lockerung der Massnahmen nur mit einer langsamen Erholung zu rechnen. Aber auch personenbezogene und persönliche Dienstleistungen (z.B. Physiotherapeutinnen, Zahnärzte,) sowie sonstige überwiegend persönliche Dienstleistungen (z.B. Coiffeure, Kosmetikstudios) oder der Bereich Kultur/Events/Sport haben teilweise mit weiteren massiven Umsatzeinbussen zu kämpfen.

Die Folgen für den Arbeitsmarkt zeigten sich schnell. Während Ende Juli 94‘150 Arbeitnehmende von Unternehmen mit Hauptsitz in Basel-Stadt für die Kurzarbeitsentschädigung vorangemeldet waren, stieg die Arbeitslosenquote des Kantons von 3.2% im Februar auf 4.1% im Juli. Gleichzeitig ist die Anzahl der bei dem kantonalen Regionalen Arbeitsvermittlungszentrum (RAV) gemeldeten offenen Stellen von März bis Mai stark gesunken. Ab Juni ist die Zahl wieder gestiegen und erreichte im Juli 1‘600 offene Stellen.

Bild vergrössert anzeigen
Monatliche Entwicklung der offenen Stellen und der ALQ im Kanton Basel-Stadt
Letzter Datenpunkt: Juli 2020

Wie schnell sich die Wirtschaft erholen wird, hängt von vielen Faktoren ab und kann derzeit noch nicht vorhergesagt werden. Jedoch dürften die von Bund und Kanton schnell umgesetzten Unterstützungsmassnahmen die  Erholung beschleunigen. Zudem ist Basel-Stadt weiterhin ein attraktiver Standort mit zahlreichen Standortvorteilen sowie einer Wirtschaftsstruktur, die in Krisenzeiten stabilisierend wirkt.

nach oben

Covid-19 und regionale Wirtschaft: Steiniger Weg aus der Krise

Der Arbeitgeberverband Basel, der Gewerbeverband Basel-Stadt, die Handelskammer beider Basel, die Standortförderung Basel-Stadt im AWA und die Standortförderung Baselland haben gemeinsam eine Umfrage zur Bewältigung des Lockdowns bei den Unternehmen der Wirtschaftsregion Basel durchgeführt.
635 Entscheidungsträgerinnen und Entscheidungsträger aus allen Branchen und aus allen Unternehmensgrössen haben an der Umfrage teilgenommen. Das Stimmungsbild aufgrund der erhaltenen Rückmeldungen zeigt: Der Impact des Corona-Virus auf die Wirtschaft ist immens.

 

Medienmitteilung zur Umfrage
Stimmungsbarometer Spezial Sommer 2020, Management Summary
Stimmungsbarometer Spezial Sommer 2020, Kurzversion
Stimmungsbarometer Spezial Sommer 2020, vollständige Version

nach oben