Brexit

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (UK) left the European Union (EU) on 31 January 2020 (so-called Brexit). Until 31 December 2020, a transition period was in place. As of 1 January 2021, the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) will no longer apply to the UK. Instead, the agreement between Switzerland and the UK on citizens’ rights as a result of the UK's withdrawal from the EU and the discontinuation of the AFMP (Citizens’ Rights Agreement) and the Services Mobility Agreement (SMA) will come into force. In detail the following:

Commencement of work with an employer in Switzerland:

Permits under the Foreign Nationals and Integration Act (FNIA): If the employment in Switzerland starts after 31 December 2020, it is not possible for UK citizens to use the notification procedure. From 1 January 2021, the same admission requirements of the FNIA will apply to newly arrived workers from the UK as to all other third-country nationals (art. 18-24 and art. 26a FNIA). The applications need to be submitted by the Swiss employer to the Office of Economy and Labour in Basel-Stadt (AWA BS). However, the permits are not subject to the approval procedure of the Confederation, i.e. they are granted on basis of cantonal autonomy. The cantons issue permits for indispensable managers and specialists if an overall economic interest is given, subject to compliance with the personal requirements, priority and the terms of employment as well as the salary customary to the region, the professional and the particular sector. There are separate quotas. All additional information and the necessary forms are published here.

UK Service Providers (postings and self-employed service provision)

Notification procedure up to 90 days per calendar year: According to the SMA, the notification procedure continues to apply for postings of companies with their registered office in the UK and self-employed service providers for the admission of cross-border services from the UK up to 90 working days per calendar year. Third-country nationals employed in UK companies must have already been permanently admitted to the regular labour market in the UK, i.e. in possession of a residence card or permanent residence card for at least 12 months, before being posted to Switzerland and thus be admitted to the regular labour market in the UK. This applies for the next two years.

Special case of self-employed service providers without UK nationality who are residential in the UK: Self-employed service providers who are EU/EFTA nationals and have their place of residence and registered office in the UK may only be confirmed in the notification procedure if their service provision began before 31 December 2020 and a written service contract was concluded before. This may be checked during a subsequent control. When registering, the date of the service contract must be entered in the comment section; otherwise, the notification will be refused. Services that take place after 1 January 2021 require a permit, which can be granted if the admission requirements of the FNIA are fulfilled. There is no legal claim to admission to the labour market.

Postings and self-employed provision of services for longer than 90 days: Assignments that exceed 90 working days per calendar year require a permit, which can be granted if the admission requirements of the FNIA are fulfilled. There is no legal claim to admission to the labour market.

Important Links regarding Brexit

FAQ Brexit (Source: SEM)

Link to the SEM Provision (in german only)

Brexit

Le Royaume-Uni a quitté l'UE le 31 janvier 2020 (Brexit). Jusqu'au 31 décembre 2020, il y a eu une période de transition. À compter du 1er janvier 2021, l'ALCP ne s'applique plus au Royaume-Uni ; à la place, l'accord entre la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni sur les droits des citoyens à la suite du retrait du Royaume-Uni de l'UE et de la suppression de l'ALCP (accord sur les droits acquis) et l'accord sur la mobilité des prestataires de services (SMA) entrent en vigueur. En voici les détails:

Prise d’emploi auprès d’un employeur en Suisse:

Permis en vertu de la loi sur les étrangers et l'intégration (LEI): Si la prise d’emploi a lieu après le 31 décembre 2020, il ne sera pas possible d'utiliser la procédure d'annonce pour un ressortissant britannique commençant une activité lucrative en Suisse. À partir du 1 er janvier 2021, les mêmes conditions d'admission de l’LEI s'appliqueront aux travailleurs nouvellement arrivés du Royaume-Uni qu’à tous les autres ressortissants de pays tiers (art. 18-24 et art. 26a LEI). Les demandes doivent être soumises par l'employeur suisse à l'Office de l'économie et du travail de Bâle-Ville (AWA BS). Toutefois, ils ne sont pas soumis à la procédure d'approbation de la Confédération, c'est-à-dire qu'ils sont délivrés sur une base cantonale. De leur propre chef, les cantons délivrent lesdites autorisations à condition que l’admission de la personne concernée serve les intérêts économiques du pays, que cette dernière possède les qualifications personnelles requises et que l’ordre de priorité et les conditions de rémunération et de travail usuelles, du lieu et de la branche soient respectés. Il existe des contingents distincts. Toutes les informations complémentaires et les formulaires nécessaires se trouvent ici.

Prestations de services (détachements et prestations de services indépendants) en provenance du Royaume-Uni

Procédure d’annonce jusqu'à 90 jours par année civile: Conformément à l’SMA, la procédure de notification continue de s'appliquer aux détachements de sociétés basées au Royaume-Uni et de prestataires de services indépendants pour l'admission de services transfrontaliers à partir du Royaume-Uni jusqu'à 90 jours par année civile. Les ressortissants de pays tiers employés dans des sociétés de détachement britanniques doivent être en possession d'une carte de séjour ou d'une carte de séjour permanent depuis au moins 12 mois avant d'être détachés en Suisse et doivent donc être admis sur le marché du travail régulier au Royaume-Uni. Ceci s'applique aux deux prochaines années.

Cas particuliers des prestataires de services indépendants sans nationalité britannique qui résident au Royaume-Uni: Les prestataires de services indépendants qui sont des ressortissants de l'UE/AELE et qui ont leur lieu de résidence et leur siège social au Royaume-Uni ne peuvent être confirmés dans le cadre de la procédure d’annonce que si leur prestation de services a commencé avant le 31 décembre 2020 et si un contrat écrit de prestation de services a été conclu avant cette date. Cela peut être vérifié lors d'une inspection en aval. Lors de la procédure d’annonce, la date du contrat de service doit être indiquée dans le champ de commentaire, sinon le rapport se verra refusé. Les services qui ont lieu après le 1er janvier 2021 nécessitent une licence, qui peut être accordée si les exigences de l’LEI en matière de licence sont cumulativement remplies. Il n'y a pas de droit à l'admission sur le marché du travail.

Détachement et prestation de services indépendants pendant plus de 90 jours: Les missions qui dépassent 90 jours par année civile nécessitent une autorisation, qui peut être délivrée si les conditions d'admission de l'LEI sont cumulativement remplies. Il n'y a pas de droit à l'admission sur le marché du travail.

Liens importants sur Brexit

FAQ Brexit  (Source: SEM)

Lien SEM directive "Séjour avec activité lucrative"