Brexit

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (UK) left the European Union (EU) on 31 January 2020 (so-called Brexit). Until 31 December 2020, a transition period was in place. As of 1 January 2021, the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) will no longer apply to the UK. Instead, the agreement between Switzerland and the UK on citizens’ rights as a result of the UK's withdrawal from the EU and the discontinuation of the AFMP (Citizens’ Rights Agreement) and the Services Mobility Agreement (SMA) will come into force. In detail the following:

Commencement of work with an employer in Switzerland:

Permits under the Foreign Nationals and Integration Act (FNIA): If the employment in Switzerland starts after 31 December 2020, it is not possible for UK citizens to use the notification procedure. From 1 January 2021, the same admission requirements of the FNIA will apply to newly arrived workers from the UK as to all other third-country nationals (art. 18-24 and art. 26a FNIA). The applications need to be submitted by the Swiss employer to the Office of Economy and Labour in Basel-Stadt (AWA BS). However, the permits are not subject to the approval procedure of the Confederation, i.e. they are granted on basis of cantonal autonomy. The cantons issue permits for indispensable managers and specialists if an overall economic interest is given, subject to compliance with the personal requirements, priority and the terms of employment as well as the salary customary to the region, the professional and the particular sector. There are separate quotas. All additional information and the necessary forms are published here.

UK Service Providers (postings and self-employed service provision)

Notification procedure up to 90 days per calendar year: According to the SMA, the notification procedure continues to apply for postings of companies with their registered office in the UK and self-employed service providers for the admission of cross-border services from the UK up to 90 working days per calendar year. Third-country nationals employed in UK companies must have already been permanently admitted to the regular labour market in the UK, i.e. in possession of a residence card or permanent residence card for at least 12 months, before being posted to Switzerland and thus be admitted to the regular labour market in the UK. This applies for the next two years.

Special case of self-employed service providers without UK nationality who are residential in the UK: Self-employed service providers who are EU/EFTA nationals and have their place of residence and registered office in the UK may only be confirmed in the notification procedure if their service provision began before 31 December 2020 and a written service contract was concluded before. This may be checked during a subsequent control. When registering, the date of the service contract must be entered in the comment section; otherwise, the notification will be refused. Services that take place after 1 January 2021 require a permit, which can be granted if the admission requirements of the FNIA are fulfilled. There is no legal claim to admission to the labour market.

Postings and self-employed provision of services for longer than 90 days: Assignments that exceed 90 working days per calendar year require a permit, which can be granted if the admission requirements of the FNIA are fulfilled. There is no legal claim to admission to the labour market.

Important Links regarding Brexit

FAQ Brexit (Source: SEM)

Link to the SEM Provision (in german only)

Brexit

Das Vereinigte Königreich (UK) ist am 31. Januar 2020 aus der EU ausgetreten (sog. Brexit). Bis zum 31. Dezember 2020 galt eine Übergangsphase. Ab dem 1. Januar 2021 gilt das Freizügigkeitsabkommen (FZA) für das UK nicht mehr, sondern es gelten das Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und dem UK über die Rechte der Bürgerinnen und Bürger infolge des Austritts des UK aus der EU und dem Wegfall des FZA (Abkommen erworbene Rechte) und das Abkommen über die Mobilität von Dienstleistungserbringern / Services Mobility Agreement (SMA). Im Einzelnen dazu folgendes:

Stellenantritt bei einem Arbeitgeber in der Schweiz​​​​​​​:

Bewilligungen nach dem Ausländer- und Integrationsgesetz (AIG): Sofern die Arbeitsaufnahme nach dem 31. Dezember 2020 erfolgt, besteht bei einem Stellenantritt eines UK-Bürgers in der Schweiz keine Möglichkeit, das Meldeverfahren zu nutzen. Ab dem 1. Januar 2021 gelten für neueinreisende Erwerbstätige aus UK die gleichen Zulassungsvoraussetzungen des AIG wie für alle übrigen Drittstaatsangehörigen (Art. 18-24 sowie Art. 26a AIG). Die Gesuche sind vom Schweizer Arbeitgeber beim Amt für Wirtschaft und Arbeit Basel-Stadt (AWA BS) einzureichen. Die Bewilligungen unterliegen allerdings nicht dem Zustimmungsverfahren des Bundes, d.h. sie werden in kantonaler Eigenkompetenz erteilt. Die Kantone erteilen die Bewilligungen für unerlässliche Führungskräfte und Spezialistinnen und Spezialisten bei Vorliegen eines gesamtwirtschaftlichen Interesses, unter Einhaltung der persönlichen Voraussetzungen, des Vorrangs und der orts-, berufs- und branchenüblichen Lohn- und Arbeitsbedingungen. Hierfür bestehen separate Höchstzahlen. Alle ergänzenden Informationen sowie die nötigen Formulare finden Sie hier.

Dienstleistungserbringungen (Entsendungen und Selbstständige Dienstleistungserbringung) aus dem UK

Meldeverfahren bis 90 Tage pro Kalenderjahr: Gemäss dem SMA kommt für Entsendungen von Unternehmen mit Firmensitz in UK und Selbstständige Dienstleistungserbringungen für die Zulassung von grenzüberschreitenden Dienstleistungen aus UK bis 90 Arbeitstage pro Kalenderjahr weiterhin das Meldeverfahren zur Anwendung. In UK-Entsendebetrieben angestellte Drittstaatsangehörige müssen vor der Entsendung in die Schweiz bereits dauerhaft, d.h. seit mindestens 12 Monaten im Besitz einer Aufenthaltskarte oder einer Daueraufenthaltskarte und somit auf dem regulären Arbeitsmarkt in UK zugelassen sein. Dies gilt für die nächsten zwei Jahre.

Spezialfall Selbstständige Dienstleistungserbringer ohne UK-Staatsangehörigkeit mit Wohnsitz in UK: Selbstständige Dienstleistungserbringer, die Staatsangehörige der EU/EFTA sind und ihren Wohnsitz und Firmensitz in UK haben, dürfen im Meldeverfahren nur bestätigt werden, wenn ihre Dienstleistungserbringung vor dem 31. Dezember 2020 begonnen und vor diesem Datum ein schriftlicher Dienstleistungsvertrag abgeschlossen wurde. Dies kann bei einer nachgelagerten Kontrolle geprüft werden. Bei der Meldung muss das Datum des Dienstleistungsvertrages im Kommentarfeld eingegeben werden, ansonsten die Meldung zu verweigern ist. Dienstleistungen, welche nach dem 1. Januar 2021 erfolgen, bedürfen einer Bewilligung, deren Erteilung möglich ist, sofern die Zulassungsvoraussetzungen des AIG kumulativ erfüllt sind. Es besteht kein Anspruch auf Zulassung zum Arbeitsmarkt.

Entsendung und Selbstständige Dienstleistungserbringung länger als 90 Tage: Einsätze, welche die 90 Arbeitstage pro Kalenderjahr übersteigen, bedürfen einer Bewilligung, deren Erteilung möglich ist, sofern die Zulassungsvoraussetzungen des AIG kumulativ erfüllt sind. Es besteht kein Anspruch auf Zulassung zum Arbeitsmarkt.

Wichtige Links zum Brexit

FAQ Brexit (Quelle: SEM)

Link zu SEM Weisung "Aufenthalt mit Erwerbstätigkeit"