Work Permits

We are your point of contact for labour market admissions on the Basel labour market.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

COVID-19 – Since 15 June 2020, persons from all Schengen states covered by the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) or EFTA Agreement have been allowed to enter and stay in Switzerland or to engage in gainful employment in accordance with the regular entry requirements. Thus, the rights of free movement under the AFMP and the EFTA Agreement have been fully restored. In addition, as of 6 July 2020, the Federal Council has, among other things, lifted the admission restrictions for stays requiring a permit for third-country nationals. As a result, notifications via the notification procedure (for persons who can refer to the AFMP or the EFTA agreement) and labour market applications (for persons from third countries) will be processed and approved by us if the relevant requirements of the AFMP/Posted Workers Act (PWA) and/or Foreign Nationals and Integration Act (FNIA) are met. Regarding the admission to the labour market there are no further restrictions due to Covid-19. Neverthe-less, entry restrictions or conditions (such as the obligation to maintain quarantine in accord-ance with Art. 2 or the obligation to notify in accordance with Art. 5 of the Ordinance on Measures to Combat Coronavirus (Covid-19) in International Passenger Traffic) must be observed. Please contact the FOPH and the competent authorities of the Canton of Basel-Stadt for further information.

You will find the links to the information of the Federal Council of 12 June 2020, to the SEM directive of 6 July 2020, to the Ordinance 3 on Measures to Combat Coronavirus (Covid-19; incl. annex) and to the Ordinance on Measures to Combat Coronavirus (Covid-19) in Interna-tional Passenger Traffic either at the end of the page "Notification procedure" ("Further im-portant information (...)") or "Non-EU/EFTA member states (third countries): Commencement of work with an employer in Switzerland and postings" ("Important links and forms").

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BREXIT – The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (UK) left the EU on 31 January 2020. In the withdrawal agreement, the EU and the UK agreed on a transition period until 31 December 2012. As a result, notification and permit procedures remain unchanged for UK nationals and for service providers based in the UK. If you are working for less than 90 days, please select the “Notification procedure” heading, if you are working for more than 90 days, please select “EU-26/EFTA: Commencement of work (…)” or “EU-26/EFTA: Postings”.

  • Notification procedure

    Find out about your notification duties and the online notification procedure for postings as well as short-term work of up to three months with a Swiss employer.

  • EU-26/EFTA: Commencement of work with an employer in Switzerland for more than three months

    General information for employers regarding the employment and work of EU-27/EFTA nationals in Switzerland.

  • EU-26/EFTA: Postings

    A work permit is not required for postings of up to 90 days per calendar year. There is, however, a duty to notify to be complied with directly via the notification procedure.

  • EU-1 (Croatia)

    Protocol III of the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) provides transitional provisions regarding gainful work for Croatian nationals (EU-1). Authorisation is still required for numerous activities.

  • Non-EU/EFTA member states (third countries): Commencement of work with an employer in Switzerland and postings

    Third-country nationals are subject to restrictive conditions under the law on foreign nationals regarding admission to the Swiss labour market.

  • Non-EU member states (third countries): Self-employment

    Nationals from third countries are subject to particular conditions under the law on foreign nationals for taking up self-employment.

  • Wages

    Would you like to find out whether minimum wages exist in a specific industry and what wages apply in a certain region or industry? Do you know how to calculate the respective wage yourself? Use the wage calculator of the Federal Statistical Office.

  • Au-Pairs

    All applications for au-pair permits must be submitted to AWA. Applications related to au-pairs from third countries may be submitted to AWA by licensed Swiss au-pair organisations only.

  • Trade fair assignments

    The employment of foreign staff at trade fairs requires notification or a permit application.

Arbeitsbewilligungen

Wir sind Ihre Ansprechspartnerin für arbeitsmarktliche Zulassungen auf dem Basler Arbeitsmarkt.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

COVID-19 – Seit dem 15. Juni 2020 dürfen Personen sämtlicher Schengen-Staaten, die unter das FZA bzw. EFTA-Übereinkommen fallen, gemäss den ordentlichen Einreisevoraussetzungen in die Schweiz einreisen und sich hier aufhalten oder eine Erwerbstätigkeit ausüben. Somit sind die Freizügigkeitsrechte gemäss dem FZA und dem EFTA-Übereinkommen wieder vollständig hergestellt. Zudem hat der Bundesrat per 20. Juli 2020 unter anderem die Zulassungseinschränkungen für bewilligungspflichtige Aufenthalte für Erwerbstätige aus Drittstaaten aufgehoben. Somit werden Meldungen via Meldeverfahren (für Personen, die sich auf das Freizügigkeitsabkommen [FZA] bzw. EFTA-Übereinkommen berufen können) und arbeitsmarktliche Gesuche (für Personen aus Drittstaaten) von uns bearbeitet und bewilligt, sofern die entsprechenden Voraussetzungen des FZA/EntsG und/oder AIG erfüllt sind. Aufgrund von Covid-19 ergeben sich somit betreffend die arbeitsmarktliche Zulassung keine weiteren Einschränkungen. Allfällige Einreisebeschränkungen oder -auflagen (wie bspw. die Pflicht zur Quarantäne gemäss Art. 2 oder die Meldepflicht gemäss Art. 5 der Verordnung über Massnahmen zur Bekämpfung des Coronavirus (Covid-19) im Bereich des internationalen Personenverkehrs) sind dennoch zu beachten. Bitte Informieren Sie sich hierzu beim BAG und den zuständigen Behörden des Kantons Basel-Stadt.

Sie finden die Links zur Information des Bundesrates vom 12. Juni 2020, zur SEM-Weisung vom 20. Juli 2020, zur Verordnung 3 über Massnahmen zur Bekämpfung des Coronavirus (Covid-19) inkl. Anhang und zur Verordnung über Massnahmen zur Bekämpfung des Coronavirus (Covid-19) im Bereich des internationalen Personenverkehrs entweder am Ende der Seite „Meldeverfahren“ („Weitere wichtige Informationen (…)“ oder „Nicht-EU-Staaten (Drittstaaten): Stellenantritt bei einem Arbeitgebenden in der Schweiz und Entsendungen“ („Weitere Links und Formulare“).


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BREXIT – Das Vereinigte Königreich von Grossbritannien und Nordirland (UK) trat per 31. Januar 2020 aus der EU aus. Im Austrittsabkommen haben sich die EU und das UK auf eine Übergangsphase bis am 31. Dezember 2020 verständigt. Melde- und Bewilligungsverfahren bleiben somit für Staatsangehörige des UK und für Dienstleistungserbringende mit Sitz im UK unverändert. Bei einer Arbeitstätigkeit unter 90 Tagen wählen Sie bitte die Rubrik „Meldeverfahren“, bei einer Tätigkeit über 90 Tagen wählen Sie bitte „EU-26/EFTA: Stellenantritt (…)“ beziehungsweise „EU-26/EFTA: Entsendungen“.

  • Meldeverfahren

    Informieren Sie sich über die Meldepflicht und das Online-Meldeverfahren für Entsendungen und für kurzfristige Erwerbstätigkeiten bis zu drei Monaten bei einem Arbeitgebenden in der Schweiz.

  • EU-26/EFTA: Stellenantritt bei einem Arbeitgebenden in der Schweiz länger als drei Monate

    Allgemeine Information für Arbeitgebende zur Anstellung und Erwerbstätigkeit von EU-27-/EFTA- Staatsangehörigen in der Schweiz.

  • EU-26/EFTA: Entsendungen

    Für Entsendungen bis zu 90 Tagen im Kalenderjahr braucht es keine Arbeitsbewilligung. Hier besteht nur eine Meldepflicht, die direkt über das Meldeverfahren wahrgenommen werden muss.

  • EU-1 (Kroatien)

    Für die Erwerbstätigkeit von kroatischen Staatsangehörigen (EU-1) sieht das Protokoll III zum Freizügigkeitsabkommen (FZA) Übergangsbestimmungen vor. Nach wie vor besteht für zahlreiche Tätigkeiten eine Bewilligungspflicht.

  • Nicht-EU-Staaten (Drittstaaten): Stellenantritt bei einem Arbeitgebenden in der Schweiz und Entsendungen

    Für Angehörige aus Drittstaaten bestehen restriktive ausländerrechtliche Voraussetzungen für die Zulassung zum Arbeitsmarkt.

  • Nicht-EU-Staaten (Drittstaaten): Selbstständige Erwerbstätigkeit

    Für ausländische Personen aus Drittstaaten bestehen besondere ausländerrechtliche Voraussetzungen zur Aufnahme einer selbstständigen Erwerbstätigkeit.

  • Löhne

    Sie möchten sich erkundigen, ob es in einer bestimmten Branche einen Mindestlohn gibt oder welche orts- und branchenüblichen Löhne gelten? Kennen Sie schon die Möglichkeit, den entsprechenden Lohn selber zu berechnen? Nutzen Sie hierzu den Lohnrechner des Bundesamts für Statistik.

  • Au-Pair

    Alle Au-Pair-Bewilligungen müssen beim AWA beantragt werden. Für Au-Pair aus Drittstaaten kann ausschliesslich eine lizenzierte schweizer-Au-Pair-Organisation einen Antrag beim AWA einreichen.

  • Einsätze während Messen (z.B. Baselworld)

    Für Einsätze an Messen von ausländischem Personal bedarf es ebenfalls einer Meldung oder eines Bewilligungsantrages.